Crystal's Notes 10 February 2024

New Eyes In The New Year

I was delighted to be invited by the Ministry of Defence to speak at the inaugural Digital and Intelligence Services (DIS) Women’s Career Fair last week. An intelligence agency safeguarding our nation in the digital realm, DIS impressed me with its forward-thinking approach and the brilliance of its leaders. Over lunch, we exchanged insights about the rapidly evolving landscape of our world. The motto shared by Ruth Elin Tay, Commander of the Imagery Support Group in DIS: "Beyond The Obvious, And With New Eyes" resonated so deeply that I had to write it down on my hand immediately. The motto describes exactly what we need for the future, and it explained clearly my origin story and life’s journey too.

As an investment banker, I was surrounded by super smart people. But, I witnessed firsthand how the intelligence was narrowly focused on profits, and often at the expense of personal fulfilment. Some of the people I met then had high net worth but very low self-worth. This paradox made me pivot from investment banking into unlocking human potential and the pursuit of wisdom.

Our world is becoming ever more interconnected and complex. We are drowning in data and information. AI can do anything and everything that is obvious, it can code anything that needs to be coded. The only thing that is left for us humans is to venture beyond the obvious, and to look deeper, with new eyes, to explore in an existential way, our threats and our humanity.

In my Deep Human Leadership classes, we train self-mastery and emotional regulation. We do this because as humans, during difficult times, we never rise to the occasion. Instead, we fall to the level of our training. If you find yourself easily triggered, it means you need to work on your emotional self-mastery muscles. Hone your ability to actively notice and collect data from the situation, while staying out of judgement. You’ll also have to practise active listening, and with compassion.

I understand how triggers and conflicts are difficult to manage. In a recent episode of my podcast, I had the pleasure of hosting Shruti Bose, who shared valuable insights on many topics, including conflict resolution. Shruti says that while every conflict has to be addressed professionally, it does not mean that they must all be resolved. If something cannot be resolved and there is no closure, we don’t need to try to fix the situation. We just have to work with what we have.

Part of my mission to start Comfort & Growth was to be able to bring relatable, real-life experts I meet from my world to you. I am always meeting amazing people in panels, boardrooms and senior leader meetings, but very often, they are not on IG or TikTok. There is a wealth of Western self-help and career experts, but by featuring experts who understand the nuances of Asian culture and workplace dynamics, it is my hope that what they say will hit home in a different way for you.

I encourage my team to prioritize delivering value to others in everything we do. Whether it's through my reels, retreats, events or podcasts, they are all done with the hope that the community will continue to have experiences of impact, awe, and wonder together, along with an unwavering commitment to growth and self-discovery, so that we have enough to fall towards, when we need it.

May the Year of the Dragon bring us all roaring opportunities, as well as strengthened bonds of unity and harmony. Here’s to new perspectives, looking beyond the obvious, and a year of immense growth, success, and prosperity for all!

Much love,

Crystal

Upcoming Deep Human Institute Events

Click HERE for all upcoming event details!