Crystal's Notes - 17th December 2023

‘I Am Well’ Journal FAQ!

Dear Community

Did you manage to get your journals during the second launch on 15th Dec? 

I’ve been loving all the messages and pictures that people have been sending me of their journals, and it is so interesting to see how everyone is using them. Someone shared how she booked herself for a staycation so that she could carve out some quiet time to do her yearly review. Another shared how her company had teams doing their journals together so that they could all have a more intentional reflection and goal-setting experience. Husbands and wives embarked on their journals together, as with mother and daughters, and best friends. We’ve also seen gorgeous pictures of the journals on holiday to far-flung, exotic locations! It has all been so wonderful. Please keep these messages and pictures of your journals coming! 

I’ve also compiled a few questions I’ve been receiving about the journals. 

Q: Can I start journalling now, or should I wait till January 2024?

A: You can start now if you want to because we will launch the journal again in November next year, to help you start another 12 months of intentional and mindful living. The calendar sheets are undated, so you can start anytime you want!

Q: Should I finish the year-end prompts on my own, or wait till the workshop at the end of the month?

A: This is entirely up to you. If you feel that you’d be more assured if you wait till the workshop to answer the prompts, then wait. But if you are raring to go, go right ahead and jot down your thoughts! You can always add to them after the workshop. There is no singular way to use the journal. 

Q: Is there a particular way to set intentions?

A: There’s no fixed way but I always try to make my intentions an identity level thing. This means, I ask myself WHO is the person I want to be, rather than WHAT do I want. What I want is more of a goal. We will explore this in more depth at our journalling workshop! (We’re completely sold out for our face-to-face workshops, but you can sign up for the virtual one here!)

Q: Is this journal suitable for someone who doesn’t have big career goals and wild dreams? 

A: Of course! You get to choose the life you want to lead, and you get to pick the highlights that mean something for you. If an event or situation made you proud, it doesn’t matter if it was a deal involving millions of dollars, or about spending time with your loved ones. Your goals are whatever you want to realign your life towards, and no one gets to judge what is meaningful to you. 

Q: I love the journal but I am afraid I’d not be able to find time to keep using it. Any tips on how a busy mother can make sure she remains consistent with journalling? I’d hate for the journal to go to waste.

A: Keep it in a place where you can see it, and make a special tray for it! I have a beautiful journalling tray with my journal, pens, pencils and erasers on it. Integrate it into your morning routine! You can put it where you drink coffee or where you have your morning vitamins. I’d love to talk about the science of habit formation on my pod one day. I think it’d help! 

Q: Would you recommend I plot detailed daily events in this journal? 

A: I’d still use my digital calendar for event organisation and calendar invites, so only major events or trips will go into the planner. I map out all my major project dates, travel dates, birthdays, and macro important things in the monthly view. The micro stuff I will leave to my digital calendar. 

Doing this helps me visually and mentally get a grip on what I am doing that month, and how busy I am. If I don’t do this, I’d run around like a headless chicken. Also, if I see that my month is going to be packed, I will then schedule self-care appointments and block out me-time. 

Q: The journal is so pretty. I don’t think my handwriting is nice enough and I am so afraid I’d mess it up! 

A: Don’t be intimidated by the blank page. Make yourself a cup of tea, light a candle and get into the zone. It is a sacred space for you, so tune out that inner critic and instead, tune into your creative spirit and let go! 

The response to the journal and workshops shows how hungry so many are for cultivating a life that thrives in both productivity and personal wellness, and what is best is that we have such a wonderful community to do it all together with. 

I can’t wait to see you all at the workshops and hear more from everyone! Cannot imagine a better way to end this amazing year and prepare for the next one. 

Click here to sign up for the upcoming I AM WELL virtual workshop (a recording will be sent to all participants after the session)

P.S. Sign up for our January intake for Deep Human Leadership here