Crystal's Notes 23 March

Career Transitions

The AMA I did last weekend saw numerous questions on career transitions. A lot of them were from teachers and cabin crew, and they wanted to know more about alternative careers they were suited for.

My Chief of Staff, Jo Ann, was a teacher for 20 years before she joined us, and today, she helps me with client management, training programmes, brand collaborations, communications and staff supervision. This week, we go behind the scenes at Forest Wolf, and have Jo share about how she went from English teacher to Chief of Staff.

A Teacher’s Transition to Chief of Staff

I loved being a teacher, and after being one for 20 years, the work was as natural as breathing was to me. I knew my subject matter well, and I loved building connections with my students. But all work of the heart is hard, and after 20 years of going the extra mile for every student that passed through the classroom door, I started to feel an exhaustion that no number of holidays, weekends or breaks could help.

I also lost my voice frequently, and had to whisper entire lessons to thankfully very cooperative students.

To have some semblance of a work-life balance, I switched from being a school teacher to a tutor, and with the extra time I now had on my hands, I finally got the chance to try my hand at my first big love, which was writing. I applied to do freelance writing with companies and websites big and small, and learnt so much from each one that gave me a chance. There were new writing styles to pick up, new platforms to learn to use, new angles to focus on. All of that added to my repertoire, and the income I got from my freelance work became more consistent when clients started referring me to others. That was when I started thinking about the possibility of writing full-time one day, and making the pivot from teaching.

I was in bed scrolling IG when I saw on Crystal’s story that she was looking for a freelance writer. I leapt out of bed, ran downstairs to my laptop, and in 10 minutes, sent my CV to her. When she responded with an interview date, I raced to produce an e-book based on one of her podcasts. At that time, I was just excited about the chance to work with someone I respected, and had just wanted to give her something in return for all that she had given to the community so freely. I did not know that I was using a career strategy that she advocated, which was to bring something of value to the interview!

I did eventually get the job, and that was how I started as a freelance writer with Forest Wolf.

My first time meeting Crystal! I brought my dog Champion along.

And when the opportunity for a bigger, full-time role came up a few months later, Crystal asked if I would be keen. Not many employers will recognise ability and skill over qualifications – I had no administrative or business background for the role, but Crystal saw my ability to work with change and deadlines, and appreciated that I knew the language of her work. My one foot in had allowed me to take another step further! (How I had written in my I Am Well Journal that I wanted to pivot from teaching 10 minutes before Crystal called to offer me the role is another story for another day!)  

Written on 2 Jan, at 11:50am. Crystal called at 12 noon, while I was mopping the floor!

Despite all the limiting beliefs I had about my own ability, I took up her offer because I knew such an opportunity would be hard to come by.

I will not say that taking on a new job in an entirely new industry has been all fun and games. The learning curve has been steep. The entire experience has been, at the same time, a most exciting and frightening one. Also, if you’re starting brand-new in any industry, there may be a possibility that you may be starting at a lower salary point than what you are used to. But perhaps that comes also with a chance to pursue something new, the opportunity to unlearn and learn, and an adventure of a lifetime.

I know I took the right step when my former students spot me on Crystal’s IG, and send me encouraging messages like, “WE CAN DO DIZ!!!”, or when I come home exhausted after running an event, but still excited to share all the things I had learnt that day with my husband and three dogs.

Redacted for my former student’s privacy, but you get the gist!!

Teachers do not just teach and many of our skills are transferrable. My years as a Head of Department allow me today to know what to do to make sure the Forest Wolf team and management are supported. My years of classroom teaching have made me an effective communicator. My years running school events, learning journeys and overseas expeditions now help me to oversee projects. My years in the Staff Developer Committee gave me an understanding on how I can best help the clients and participants I meet now with their training needs. My loud teacher-voice has also come in handy when I need to announce to the participants the shortest way to get to the yummy buffet lunch.

If you are looking to make a transition and bogged down by what-ifs, I hope you will add the following what-ifs to the equation: What if it could all work out? What if the best is yet to come? What if you took that leap today?

It is never too late to reinvent yourself. Believe in the magic of new beginnings. Learn to breathe in a different way. And, in the inspiring words of my former student, remember: “WE CAN DO DIZ!!!”

I hope you found Jo’s sharing helpful. I’ll be writing more about career transitions, reskilling and career pivots, so watch this space!

Much love,

Crystal

Upcoming Deep Human Institute Events

Click HERE for all upcoming event details!