Crystal's Notes - 26 June 2023

Join us for our KL Deep Human talk in 2 weeks time!

We’re Coming to Malaysia 🇲🇾!

Since my analytics tell me that 1 in 7 of my audience is based in Malaysia, I’ve decided to host a talk/meet & greet/book signing in Kuala Lumpur next month on 10th July!

Tickets are available here! As a subscriber to Crystal’s Notes, use code Malaysia5 upon checkout from the Eventbrite page linked for an extra 5% off your tickets. See you there!

Carousell Shop

Last week we realised that Deep Human was sold out everywhere in Singapore, and scrambled to open a pop up Carousell store for just 24 hours.

Almost a hundred of my followers managed to snag in a personalized signed copy or two within the window that the listings were active for.

For those who would like to get their hands on the books, you may order them through our store again soon- will announce on my IG story when we’ve sorted out the workflow internally.

What I’ve Been Reading

I’ve been talking about AI for almost a decade although the trend has been picking up pace very significantly in the last couple of months. One of my team members shared that just as influencers have been making AI versions of themselves, I should perhaps think about the possibility of doing a personal development AI or ‘clone’ of myself.

John Meyer, CEO and founder of Forever Voices, said that he created the company last year, after trying to use AI to develop ways to reconnect with his late father, who passed away in 2017. He built an AI voice chatbot that replicated his late father’s voice and personality to talk to and found the experience incredibly healing. “It was a remarkable experience to talk to him again in a super realistic way,” Meyer said. “I’ve been in tech my whole life, I’m a programmer, so it was easy for me to start building something like that especially as things got more advanced with the AI space.”

-TAYLOR LORENZ, CARYNAI, CREATED WITH GPT-4 TECHNOLOGY, WILL BE YOUR GIRLFRIEND – THE WASHINGTON POST

Source: https://mindmatters.ai/2023/05/here-come-the-ai-companions/ (Click here to read the full article)

What I’ve been Listening to:

The second episode of RachReflects 🎙️ where I answer more questions around work: https://open.spotify.com/episode/6ldUiMRRfsUUOFDLPW221P?si=JOxl9R8SQlSUwag-YoA5gA

From Social Media:

This post I made last week around authenticity gained a lot of traction, probably as many have had to deal with such tensions in the workplace. Hope this little nugget is helpful to you!

Other interesting reads:

🌐 Let’s stop calling them “soft skills” — and call them “real skills” instead: https://ideas.ted.com/soft-skills-and-real-skills