Crystal's Notes - 4th November 2023

Overcoming PCOS, health hacks and money tips!

Sneak preview - join the waitlist for our upcoming launch of our productivity & wellness planner here!

Dear Community

My rebellious streak sometimes gets me into trouble, but I am grateful for it. 

I was once told by a male gynae in a very insensitive manner that I had Polycystic Ovary Syndrome (PCOS). He threw in words like ‘incurable’ and ‘infertile’ (I have two kids conceived naturally, by the way). If not for that streak in me, I might have accepted it as a life sentence, like most of his patients probably had.

While we have to accept what we cannot control, so much can be done for our own wellness, be it in terms of our health or our wealth. 

When I was still in investment banking, the company invited a health expert to speak to us, and an analogy he used stayed with me. He said we are all born with a gun pointing at our head, and the chamber is loaded with 6 bullets. Each of these bullets are things that we are predisposed to, because of our genes. It could be cancer, or Alzheimer’s. But what pulls the trigger is stress. So, the trick really is, how do we prevent this trigger from being pulled?

I was thus really glad to have holistic nutritionist, and founder of Everyday Foods, Riyana Rupani on my latest podcast. We had a great discussion on all things wellness-related, from hormones to healthy eating on the go, to intermittent fasting, to how we can manage stress better. Basically, everything big and small we can do on our part to stop the trigger. 

Here are some of my favourite tips from the episode: 

  • Set boundaries and allow your body to get into a parasympathetic state to rest and digest. 

  • Remember that digestion is a north to south process; it starts with your brain, so be in the moment while you’re eating if you want to digest your food better.

  • Before buying every supplement in the market, get a blood test done so that you know what supplements you need.

  • Think ‘VPFS’ when it comes to your meals: vegetables should come first, followed by proteins and then good fats. Starches like carbohydrates, grains and sugars will come last. This helps prevent your blood sugar level from crashing. 

  • Pair your fruit with a protein or fat to buffer the sugar spike that the fruit can give you.

  • Have snacks with you if you’re travelling or always on the road. Nuts, seeds and meat sticks are healthier than airplane food. 

  • Make sure your insulin levels are balanced.

  • Never feel like you have to white-knuckle it if you’re doing intermittent fasting. Make sure your body feels safe.

  • If you’re feeling bloated after eating, you likely do not have enough good gut bacteria you need. 

  • Excess glucose in our system can create inflammation in our body, and that can lead to brain deterioration as well. 

Riyana also shared about her 15-day elimination protocol. I am super excited about this, and I have already signed up for her November intake to do a reset from inside out. If you sign up, you’ll get meal plans, recipes, shopping lists, a community, and a coach. There will be no calorie counting!

Listen to the episode here for the details. 

On Financial Wellness

There was such a flurry of activity on IG when I posted a reel about the power of compound interest. The reel was done in collaboration with CMC Invest Singapore to help people learn more about investing. 

Many people fear discussing this topic openly, and have limiting money beliefs. But the number of questions that came in show such a great curiosity and I am here for it! Just like we can apply control when it comes to our health, we can do the same for our wealth too. I have posted some of my answers to the questions posed to me, and it is all collated under my IG highlight ‘Money $$’. I shared my views on DCA investing, percentage range of salary to invest, how one can start investing, how there is a place for taking risks, my views on crypto, EFTs, my favourite money and investing books, the fear and greed index, the falling knife theory, the list goes on! I’ll be doing an podcast on the topic, so do let me know what you want me to cover.

Community, as we age, we may start to stare (sometimes with terror) at the person in the mirror. We know that these physical changes are inevitable, but still, it can be disconcerting as we grow into our new skin and roles in life. But as we grow, we must take pride in the fact that we have come a long way, and that is powerful. 

We are empowered to do so much with our health and wealth, and we must. Personal development is all about putting awareness and action together, and we can apply this to everything in life. 

Let’s take the power away from people who label us and tell us what and who they think we are. Let’s take the wheel and stop the trigger from being pulled. Let’s make good financial decisions. Let’s be rebellious and stand up for ourselves. Because only we can do that for ourselves, and we absolutely should.

What’s on

  1. 9th December 2023: Find your Voice + Overcome Imposter Syndrome' in-person workshop. Sign up here [Early bird closing on 11th November, 9am].

  2. 17th November 2023: Singapore Fintech Festival 3-3.30pm @ Singapore Expo Hall 6. Sign up here [Book signing available from 1.30-2pm as well].