Crystal's Weekend Notes - 14 May 2023

How to get back into work after a career break

This week, everyone’s talking about this AI-made Star Wars by Wes Anderson trailer! If you didn’t know, a Youtube Channel called Curious Refuge has used AI to recreate trailers for iconic movies in a “Wes Anderson” aesthetic. While fans have gone crazy for the trailers, there are lots of angry people debating whether this is A Good Thing. Which side are you on?

This week’s question - On returning to work after an extended break

“I’ve been a stay-at-home-mum for close to 10 years now - how do I ‘prepare’ to go back to the workforce?”

Take heart, I took a break from the corporate world for 7 years, and yes I’m not gonna lie, it was hard work to get back in but when you get back, you may be surprised at how productive and successful you can be with your newfound resilience!

I would start preparing to come back by

  1. Considering what my strengths and capabilities are, and what values I would like my new career to honour.

    This is a really great opportunity to reinvent yourself! Going from investment banking to personal growth was one of the best life decisions I’ve made and I am thankful that motherhood provided me with a timeout to carefully reassess what I wanted rather than just following the natural track of progression in the finance industry.

  2. Filling yourself up with information and experiences.

    Sign up for industry seminars, panels, public talks, workshops, your alumni networking events etc and remember that networking is half of the value of attending events! Practice those social networking muscles (here’s a tiktok video I made on networking)

@crystallimlange

If you're finding it hard to form relationships after networking events, try this simple tip #careeradvice #workadvice #selfimprovement #a... See more

  1. Start building a social media presence.

    Update your LinkedIn profile . A great way to start is to find articles that are relevant to your work and share them on social media along with your unique thoughts or analysis.

    Social capital and presence is so important these days - 90% of my new opportunities come to me through social media and I think everyone needs to leverage off social media as it comes at no cost but has unlimited upside.

ps. I think I’m going to do a masterclass soon on developing your profile on social media stay tuned!

Get the last tickets for our Masterclasses - Find Your Voice and Speak Up & Manage Up!

As a subscriber to Crystal’s Notes, use code EXCLUSIVE5 upon checkout from the Eventbrite pages linked below for an extra 5% off your tickets

Lots of love, and hope to see you at our masterclasses in less than 2 weeks!
C
Find My Socials
Instagram: @crystallimlange
Tik Tok: @crystallimlange
LinkedIn: Crystal Lim-Lange